Kane County Board of Commissioners adopted Ordinance O- 2017-5, an ordinance amending title 9 chapter 24 of the Kane County Land Use Ordinance. Copies of the ordinance are available in the Kane County Clerk’s Office located at 76 N Main, Kanab, UT 84741; 435-644-2458. In summary, it defines guidelines for solar power plants; adding visual appearance, performance bonds, lighting plans, adequate water, and indemnification of Kane County. Additionally, the Ordinance requires UDOT approval and a development meeting with county staff involved, UDOT, Fire Marshal, Sheriff’s Office, Resource Planner, and land use administrator to discuss compliance to Kane County’s Laws, Ordinances, and Resource Management Plan. The Ordinance was adopted April 10, 2017, with the vote as follows: Commissioner Clayson aye, Commissioner Matson aye, and Commissioner Smith aye.

Karla Johnson
Kane County Clerk/Auditor

Published in the Southern Utah News on April 20, 2017.

Newspaper Administration